Euromicro Conference on
Software Engineering and Advanced Applications

August 28 – 30, 2019
Kallithea, Chalkidiki | Greece

SEAA 2019

SEAA 2019 Call For Papers Committees Submissions Registration

Paper Submission Deadline:

15 March 2019

1 April 2019

Notification of Acceptance:

6 May 2019

Camera-Ready Papers:

14 June 2019

Call for Papers

Technical Track @ 45th EUROMICRO SEAA Conference in Thessaloniki / Chalkidiki, Greece

SPPI – Software Process and Product Improvement

August 28-30, 2019

Important Dates:

  • Abstract submission to tracks and sessions: March 1, 2019
  • Paper submission to tracks and sessions: March 15th, 2019 April 1st, 2019
  • Notification of accepted papers: May 6, 2019
  • Camera-ready paper due: June 3, 2019

Motivation: The size, complexity, and criticality of software-intensive systems require innovative and economic approaches to development and evolution. In today's competitive world, software quality is a key to success and stability of organizations. Software process and product improvement (SPPI) aims at significantly increasing both the quality of software-intensive systems and the productivity of software development. The SPPI track will bring together researchers and practitioners to share SPPI innovations and experiences. The track is an integral part of the 45th Euromicro Conference on Software Engineering and Advanced Applications (SEAA) 2019.

Topics of interest include, but are not restricted to:

  • Organizational and business views on process improvement
  • Value-based software engineering
  • Global software engineering
  • Quality assurance, inspections, testing

  • Software process improvement and process standards
  • Process modeling, composition, and enactment/simulation

  • Quantitative models for development processes and products
  • Essential system quality aspects, e.g., dependability, safety, security, or usability
  • Technical debt (we will have a special session on this topic)

  • Open source software and software quality
  • Agile and lean development

  • Software reuse, product lines, and software ecosystems
  • Software evolution
  • Continuous delivery/integration and DevOps, software process and product evolution with feedback from operation.
  • Empirical studies and experimental approaches
  • Process improvement for innovative/emerging application areas (e.g., deep learning/AI, systems of systems, cloud/fog-based computing, big data systems, cyber-physical systems, IoT, Industry 4.0)

In particular, we encourage submissions demonstrating the benefits or limitations of SPPI approaches through case studies, experiments, and quantitative data.

The conference proceedings in the last years have been published by the IEEE Computer Society. The format is the IEEE two-column proceedings format (max 8 pages). Submission will be handled via EasyChair (; please find general submission information for SEAA on the conference homepage (

Track Organizers
Stefan Biffl, TU Vienna, Austria,
Dietmar Winkler, TU Vienna, Austria,
Rick Rabiser, JKU Linz, Austria,

Program Committee

Silvia Abrahao, Universitat Politecnica de Valencia, Spain

Wasif Afzal, Malardalen University, Sweden

Ove Armbrust, Intel Corporation, USA

Claudia P. Ayala, Technical University of Catalunya, Spain

Matthias Book, University of Iceland, Iceland

Jan Bosch, Chalmers & Gothenburg University, Sweden

Ruth Breu, University of Innsbruck, Austria

Noel Carroll, Lero, National University of Ireland Galway, Ireland

Michel Chaudron, Chalmers & Gothenburg University, Sweden

Maya Daneva, University of Twente, Netherlands

Frank Elberzhager, Fraunhofer IESE, Germany

Clenio F. Salviano, Centro de Tecnologia da Informação Renato Archer, Brazil

Michael Felderer, University of Innsbruck, Austria

Volker Gruhn, University of Duisburg-Essen, Germany

Jens Heidrich, Fraunhofer IESE, Germany

Helena Holmstroem Olsson, Mälmö University, Sweden

Martin Hoest, Lund University, Sweden

Frank Houdek, Daimler AG, Germany

Marcos Kalinowski, Pontifical Catholic University of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Tomi Maennistoe, University of Helsinki, Finland

Emilia Mendes, BTH, Sweden

Maurizio Morisio, Politecnico di Torino. Italy

Juergen Muench, University of Reutlingen, Germany

Barbara Paech, Heidelberg University, Germany

Oscar Pastor, Univ. Polytecnica de Valencia, Spain

Rudolf Ramler, Software Competence Center Hagenberg, Austria

Andreas Rausch, Technische Universität Clausthal, Germany

Ita Richardson, Lero, University of Limerick, Ireland

Klaus Schmid, University of Hildesheim, Germany

Christa Schwanninger, Siemens CT, Germany